A Spoonful of Sugar… Makes Me Have To Pee

Ok now that I’m on a new routine and things have had a chance to sink in I thought I’d talk a bit about what’s going on with me.

About two weeks ago I was officially diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes. Now this was not really a shock to me considering my symptoms and family history. I spent most of Easter weekend sleeping on couches even though I had more than a full nights’ sleep. That and peeing a full bladder every 40 minutes. I also had lost weight without trying. There were other symptoms as well. I did an online risk test from the ADA site and it came up bright red and basically said I needed to get to my doctor immediately. So I went…

Doc said it sounded like I had it but of course I needed a full blood panel to confirm. So off to the lab I went. Now I had fasted for 12 hours before I went. I got stabbed and waited for my results. I was told in come in immediately for a follow-up. The results were as follows:

Triglycerides: 643 (>125 = diabetic)

Glucose: 277 (should be 65-99)

A1C: 14.4% (<6% is normal)

Now remember that was AFTER no food for 12 hours. Not good at all. So now I’m on 1000mg of Metformin daily. Doc said that is may take 4-6 months to get things leveled out and see if the meds are working correctly. I have to drop a bunch of weight and start exercising as well. Of course no simple sugars (soda, jelly, syrups, etc) and no simple carbs.

Now that is not an easy thing for me considering I drank 60 ounces of Mtn Dew daily. But I’ve been doing well. I’m off caffeine and I’ve really cut out most of my sugars. It’s not easy though. The Oreo’s call to me in the middle of the night.

I also got a free glucose meter from LifeScan (http://www.onetouchoffer.com). I don’t have to check my glucose just yet, but Doc did say eventually I’ll need to just to make sure I’m in the correct range. He said at this point he doesn’t want me focusing on my levels since they are going to be all over the place for a few months.

So to date I’ve lost about 30 pounds in the last 2.5 months. I have about 80 more to go but it will happen slowly and correctly over the next few months.

That’s it for this installment. I’ll post more as time passes and things progress.

Leave a comment