Bipolar or Just Too Much Sugar & Caffeine?

I’ve wondered lately if I suffer from mild bipolar disorder or if I just have too much sugar and caffeine in my diet. I mean the effects of both are about the same (depending on the dosage of caffeine/sugar). One just requires medication. During the weekends, when I am away from the vending machine in our breakroom that bekons me to get the 20 ounce bottle of green joy that is Mountain Dew, I become quite down and depressed. I’m sure it’s due to the lack of caffeine in my system over the two days off, but sometimes I just wonder if it could just be that I’m a fast-cycle bipolar and I just happen to go through my ‘down slope’ on the weekends. Maybe I just get depressed because I know I should be out doing the lawn. Maybe I get depressed because I know Monday is coming. Meh… it’s gotta be the caffeine. Also… why doesn’t caffeine follow the ‘i after e’ rule? 

MOOD THIS POST: Mood - Tired Depends. Maybe I’m on a downward slope?
3 Responses

  1. Phew. Talk about making a narrow escape there, Scott. 🙂 I have to agree with you…why doesn’t the “i” come before the “e?”

  2. I have a 16 yr old daughter diagnosed with bipolar and we actually wonder if it is not more to do with reactions to sugar. Doctors however look at us like we are nuts and no one will actually look at the issue. they just want to medicate her for bipolar and depression. We have watched her drink a coke and eat pretzels and turn completely hyper and uncontrollable and then collapse and not even remember what just happened. Since she was young we have questioned this……since she was quite young we have feared chocolate brownies……..

    • JoJo,

      While this post was originally satirical I have noticed that sadly it may have some validity to it. I have three small children and especially in my son, when he gets a sugar dose he goes absolutely manic. After the sugar wears off he settles down and becomes like a lump on the couch most times. I’m not saying bipolar disorder isn’t real, I’m just saying I have a feeling refined sugar has a lot to do with ‘hyperactivity’ in kids. Doctors are very quick to label and medicate. Thatnks for your response though. Hope it all works out.

Leave a Reply

