My “Never Say Diabetic Chicken Pizza”

Since I am awaiting the results of my blood screen to officially diagnose me with diabetes I’ve decided to start a new quest to have food that doesn’t taste like a beer coaster. I’ve on a mission to come up with some goodies that are safe for me to eat, taste good… and well that I LIKE! So here’s my first recipe… made it up myself! 🙂

Never Say Diabetic Chicken Pizza

nsdcp

INGREDIENTS:

• 1ea “Flat Outs” Whole Grain Bread Wrap
• 4oz grilled chicken
(usually a single frozen breast will do)
• 1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
• 1 cup skim milk shredded mozzarella cheese
• 1/8 cup Boboli pizza sauce
(or whatever you fav is)

PREPARATION:

• Pre-heat oven to 450º.
• Grill the chicken on your kitchen grill. I use a Foreman… so fast and yummy.
• Slice, pull, cube, etc the chicken breast. 4oz doesn’t sound like a lot but trust me it fills the bread and you will be stuffed. Since I’m now diabetic and need to drop weight I have to measure everything for now.
• Lay out the bread on stoneware or baking sheet.
• Spread sauce evenly over bread.
• Sprinkle cheddar evenly over sauce.
• Add chicken evenly over bread.
• Toss on the mozzarella evenly over the chicken.

• Feel free to add veggies if you like. Keep an eye on the nutrients though.
• Bake for 10 minutes.
• Chow the heck down.
That’s it! Hope you enjoy it.
Here’s the boring parts…

NUTRIENTS:

Carbs: 31g
Fat: 38g (Sat fat 21g)
Calories: 758 (approx)
Sugar: 3g
Protein: 79g
Cholesterol: 187mg
Sodium: 1315mg
Fiber: 1g

Now I now it has some sugar but honestly you can get rid of all but like 1g from the bread by switching the sauce to a 100% sugar free (good luck finding it) brand. I have to watch tomatoes due to reflux so I had to take the 2g of sugar from the sauce.

All in all I don’t think I did too bad for my first meal out of the chute. Depending on my blood panel I’ll tweak it as necessary. It looks yummy though, yes?

Leave a Reply

