I Get To Keep My MAN Card!

I finally went and saw The Dark Knight today! I know it’s been out for nearly a month but with three kids and work schedules it’s been a daunting task to find three free hours to get to the theater. Anyway for those who have seen it and for those who haven’t I have to say it was truly impressive. Probably one of the best movies I’ve seen in a very long time.

With all the superhero movies lately this one was refreshingly not over-the-top. While it had it’s gadgets and explosions they were not gratuitous and helped to develop the plot rather than being the focus. Mainly I was enthralled with Heath Ledger’s Joker. I’ve read Batman comics since I was 6-7 years old and the Joker has always been my favorite villain. I have to say that out of the three actors to play Joker, Heath has raised the bar to the point that I doubt anyone will be able to play the role again. Ceasar Romero had the laugh and look and the criminal edge (for the 60’s). Jack Nicholson brought the sinister to the role. But Heath, in my humble opinion, has actually brought the Joker in the comics to life.

The laugh, the psychosis, the genius, the knife-play, the storytelling, the sense of humor, the philosophy of good and evil… it was SO good. I can see the month he spent locked in a room becoming the Joker was well worth it. Sadly it also probably was the role that took his life. While the Joker is a comic villain, the level to which Heath took the character as an actor would take a toll on anyone. I love that they left Joker alive though. The hard part will be finding someone to play the character to the level Heath did. Big shoes to fill.

As for the rest of the movie… just as amazing. Harvey Dent’s face was incredible. Again true to the comic. They really cleared the slate for the next movie for certain. I wish I didn;t have to wait another 3 years for the next chapter.

On the happier side i saw the trailers for Watchmen and The Spirit… I can’t wait.

Until next time movie fans… let all go to the lobby… to get ourselves a treat.

Leave a Reply

